1950 Census
The 1950 census records were released by the U.S. National Archives on April 1, 2022. This website provides full access to the 1950 census images, including population schedules, enumeration district maps, and enumeration district descriptions.
AtoZdatabases
Provides details on every business and household within the United States. Ideal for sales leads, mailing lists, market research, employment opportunities, and more.
Black Freedom Struggle in the U.S. – A selection of freely available primary source documents
Britannica Academic Edition
An accurate, current, and comprehensive resource for college-level learners, researchers, and faculty. Discover encyclopedia articles, full-text journal and magazine articles, primary sources, multimedia, and other unique resources and tools that make research easier and more productive. *NOVELNY
Britannica Escolar
Encyclopedia that is universally trusted for accurate and age-appropriate content in Spanish. Two levels, Primaria for elementary and Secundaria for middle school, offer unique content that is of interest to every student. Search easily across levels by topic or subject area. *NOVELNY
Britannica School
Thousands of up-to-date, curated, and curriculum-relevant articles, images, videos, audio clips, primary sources, maps, research tools, recommended Web sites. Includes three separate databases for elementary, middle, or high school students. There is Read-aloud, a font size adjuster, and built-in translation tools support students with special needs and ELLs. *NOVELNY
Consumer Reports
Full access to product ratings and reviews, in-depth advice, tips and trends, and recommendations and buying advice for thousands of products and services.
EBSCO GreenFILE
Scholarly, government and general interest titles exploring the relationship between human beings and the environment.
EBSCO Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)
Covers subjects of librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more.
EBSCO Teacher Reference Center (TRC)
Covers on key education topics for K-12 teachers and librarians.
Federal Domestic Assistance Listings
Assistance listings are detailed public descriptions of federal programs that provide grants, loans, scholarships, insurance, and other types of assistance awards. You may browse assistance listings across all government agencies to learn about potential funding sources.
Foundation Directory Online Essential
Explore 103,000+ expanded grantmaker profiles, 300,000+ key decision makers and leaders, Searchable 990s and 990-PDFs, as well as FDO Workspace. Click here for details on availability and instructions for creating an account.
Gale Academic OneFile
Quickly access articles from a database of scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals. Best for academic research. *NOVELNY
Gale Academic OneFile Select
Research academic topics ranging from art and literature to economics and the sciences. Ideal for smaller academic libraries. *NOVELNY
Gale Books and Authors
Answer the age-old question, ‘What do I read next?’ Search and match reading interests to books, authors, genres, or topics. *NOVELNY
Gale Business: Entrepreneurship
Learn how to start, finance, or manage your small business. Includes sample business plans, how to guides, articles, and more. *NOVELNY
Gale Business: Insights
Research global companies and industries with in-depth analysis through current news, statistical data, and comprehensive reports. *NOVELNY
Gale Business: LegalForms
Access a wide selection of state-specific (and multi-state) legal forms and resources across the most popular legal areas. *NOVELNY
Gale Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online
Provides more than 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world’s most influential literary figures from all eras and genres.
Gale General OneFile
Access general interest magazines and key serials in a single resource. Best for general research. *NOVELNY
Gale Health and Wellness
Search a full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to alternative medical practices. *NOVELNY
Gale In Context: Elementary
Introduce elementary students to database searching with resources featuring age-appropriate, curriculum-related content. *NOVELNY
Gale in Context – Middle School
Explore the most-studied topics including cultures, government, people, history, literature, and more. *NOVELNY
Gale in Context – Opposing Viewpoints
Find overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today’s important social issues. *NOVELNY
Gale Literary Criticism Online
Provides the largest, most extensive compilation of literary commentary available. Includes original broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals.
Gale OneFile: Agriculture
Access current and authoritative periodical content covering agriculture and its related fields. *NOVELNY
Gale OneFile: Communications and Mass Media
Search millions of articles covering all aspects of communications, including advertising, public relations, and more. *NOVELNY
Gale OneFile: Computer Science
Access leading business and technical publications in the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries. *NOVELNY
Gale OneFile: Criminal Justice
Comprehensive periodical content for researchers studying law, law enforcement, forensic science, terrorism, and more. *NOVELNY
Gale OneFile: Culinary Arts
Find a variety of information from major cooking and nutrition magazines as well as key reference titles. *NOVELNY
Gale OneFile: Diversity Studies
Access a range of periodical content to explore cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community. *NOVELNY
Gale OneFile: Economics and Theory
Discover content useful for starting a business, marketing a product, developing policy, analyzing trends, and more. *NOVELNY
Gale OneFile: Educators Complete Reference
Gain insight on issues in administration, funding, and policy. Best for educators, administrators, and education students. *NOVELNY
Gale OneFile: Entrepreneurship
Analyze business insights, tips, strategies, and success stories. Updated daily. Best for business schools and entrepreneurs. *NOVELNY
Gale OneFile: Environmental Studies and Policy
Investigate environmental issues with diverse perspectives from the scientific community, policymakers, and corporate interests. *NOVELNY
Gale OneFile: Fine Arts
Search millions of articles about drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. Diverse resource for serious fine arts students. *NOVELNY
Gale OneFile: Gardening and Horticulture
Find millions of articles on the practical and scientific aspects of horticulture studies. For all horticultural enthusiasts. *NOVELNY
Gale OneFile: Gender Studies
Discover balanced coverage of topics related to gender studies, family and marital issues, and more. *NOVELNY
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine
Find up-to-date information on a range of health care topics. Best for students, researchers, and health care professionals. *NOVELNY
Gale OneFile: Hospitality and Tourism
Discover well-rounded coverage of both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism industries. *NOVELNY
Gale OneFile: Home Improvement
Search home improvement topics such as architectural techniques, tool and material selection, zoning requirements, and more. *NOVELNY
Gale OneFile: Information Science
Access articles covering all aspects of managing and maintaining information and technology. Updated daily. *NOVELNY
Gale OneFile: High School Edition
Search magazines, journals, newspapers, and reference on a range of topics. Best for middle- and high-school students. *NOVELNY
Gale OneFile: Informe Académico
Search across full-text Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines from and about Latin America. *NOVELNY
Gale OneFile: Insurance and Liability
Discover information about physical and intellectual asset protection, from individuals to multinational corporations. *NOVELNY
Gale OneFile: Leadership and Management
Search authoritative periodical content covering topics like organizational dynamics, adult learning, and more. Updated daily. *NOVELNY
Gale OneFile: Military and Intelligence
Search scholarly journals, magazines, and reports covering all aspects of past and present military affairs. Updated daily. *NOVELNY
Gale OneFile: News
Access major U.S. and international newspapers online to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, or other fields. *NOVELNY
Gale OneFile: Nursing and Allied Health
Research full-text titles cited in CINAHL and other resources to support specialized care, treatment, and patient management. *NOVELNY
Gale OneFile: Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine
Access academic journals and magazines covering the fields of physical therapy, physical fitness, and sports medicine. *NOVELNY
Gale OneFile: Pop Culture Studies
Access scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture. *NOVELNY
Gale OneFile: Popular Magazines
Access the most searched magazines across Gale OneFile focusing on current events, sports, science, and health issues. *NOVELNY
Gale OneFile: Psychology
Find authoritative periodical content supporting research in all fields of psychology. *NOVELNY
Gale OneFile: Religion and Philosophy
Research the impact of religion on culture throughout history, including literature, arts, and language. Updated daily. *NOVELNY
Gale OneFile: Science
Access information on the latest developments across a range of scientific disciplines. Updated daily. *NOVELNY
Gale OneFile: U.S. History
Search balanced coverage of events in U.S. history. Best for novice historians and academic researchers. Updated daily. *NOVELNY
Gale OneFile: Vocations and Careers
Research a vocation, find an appropriate institution of learning, and get assistance on job searches and maintaining a career. *NOVELNY
Gale OneFile: War and Terrorism
Gain valuable insight into conflicts and their causes, impact, and perception on a global scale. *NOVELNY
Gale OneFile: World History
Access balanced coverage of events in world history and scholarly work being established in the field. *NOVELNY
Gale Power Search
A search platform unlike any other, providing libraries with a sophisticated yet simple solution for managing a wealth of periodical, reference, multimedia and primary source information. *NOVELNY
Gale Presents: Peterson’s Test and Career Prep
Search thousands of college and graduate schools, identify scholarships, take practice tests, create resumes, and explore careers. *NOVELNY
Gale Something About the Author Online
Examines the lives and works of authors and illustrators for children and young adults. Considered the preeminent source on authors and literature for young people.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Digital reference covering everything from biography, business, environment, history, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, religion, science and social issues.
HeritageQuest
A powerful genealogical resource that includes the Federal Censuses, over 25,000 family and local histories, bank and military records, and genealogical and local history resources.
Medici.tv
The largest online catalogue of classical and jazz music, opera and dance videos.
New York Times
Search the full text of The New York Times archive (starting in 1985). *NOVELNY
NOVELny All Databases
See all databases included in the NOVELny program. *NOVELNY
Rochester History
A journal produced by the Rochester Public Library which covers the history of Rochester and western New York. All articles are available on-line from 1939 to the present.
Rochester Images
Search thousands of historical and contemporary images from Rochester and Monroe County.
Understanding Black Experiences
Resources compiled by staff of the Monroe County Library System.
VIN Decoder
Enter your vehicle’s 17-character Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) to receive an instant report on its manufacturer, brand, make and model, body style, engine size, assembly plant, and model year.
WorldCat via OCLC FirstSearch
A catalog of books and other materials found in libraries worldwide.
* Database provided by NOVELNY. NOVELNY gives communities across New York State
online access to the full text of hundreds of journals, newspapers, and other references.